Strawberry Guava Jam

Strawberry Guava (Psidium cattleianum) or in Spanish arazá

Strawberry Guava is a small red fruit resembling tiny pomegranates that grows on a small tree (up to 25 feet tall but usually much smaller). There is also a yellow variety called Lemon Guava. Neither are related to the common Guava. The Strawberry Guava has a sweet delicious flavor. Since Strawberry Guava can be grown in parts of Texas so I have included it Texas Jelly Making. I learned that they grow well in Florida, Brazil and have become an invasive species where I was visiting  in Hawaii.

I followed wild hog trails through the brush to locate the fruit trees. It did not take long to gather enough fruit for Strawberry Guava Jam (8 cups) since I found many trees heavy with fruit. After washing the fruit I cut off the end pieces of the fruit. I then cut the fruit in half. I put the fruit in my cooking pot along with 3 cups of water. I let it boil for 20 minutes then after removing it from the stove I mashed the fruit with a potato masher. I then returned the fruit to the stove for another 20-25 minutes. At that point I poured the contents into a blender. I then used a my food mill (a sieve also works well with a large spoon) to remove all the seeds. At this point you will get a contents that resembles a fine applesauce. I returned it to the pot on the stove on a medium heat. I added two cups of sugar and 1 tsp of lemon juice. I continued to cook the jam until it was quite thick. Upon tasting friends and family declared  it quite tasty. We had it on pancakes and toast. After it was cooled I put it into freezer containers and placed it in the freezer.

Strawberry Guava Recipe

8 cups of fruit

3 cups of water

1-2 cups of sugar

1 tsp lime or lemon juice

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Strawberry Guava Jam

  1. Amazing how many different jams/jellies you make 🙂

  2. LJ Grant says:

    Do you seed your guavas? I don’t see in the recipe anywhere that you do, but the photo sequence showing the guavas on the cutting board look as if you have quartered them and seeded them. Do you do this? I was hiking today and couldn’t keep myself from foraging about three pounds of them… Thanks!

    • Lisa-
      Don’t you just love strawberry guavas? It is too bad they are so invasive in Hawaii. I push the pulp through a sieve or a food mill which catches the seed but lets the pulp pass through with a consistency of apple sauce. That way I don’t have to take out the seeds. You were right that I had removed the seeds in one of the pictures but it was so I could plant them. Thanks for visiting the blog.

      • LJ Grant says:

        Yes, they are such an amazing little burst of flavor, and they vary from fruit to fruit, as far as what color/stage of ripeness they are at. I was out hiking with my brother and sis-in-law along Wa’ahila Ridge and they line the trail sides about 80% of the way. There were sooooo many that we couldn’t resist eating them. Then, my brother floated that out there… ‘Hey Lis, could you make jelly from these?’ You BETCHA!

        Thanks for the recipe and the tips! Have a great day… 🙂

      • Lisa-
        I suspect the color of jelly/jam would vary also due to the ripeness. I have seen with fig jam that the ripest fruit makes dark jam while those that are ripe but not at the ripest stage make a different color jam.
        The closest I have been to Wa’ahila Ridge is the airport since we usually fly to the other islands from there. We have been talking about going to Honolulu, now it sounds like I have a good reason so that I can hike the trail there.
        I have thought about making jellies of all the fruits of Hawaii like I have for Texas but I suspect that is a rather large task. Additionally I would probably have to live there to get the fruits in season. I have picked wild plums, bananas, grapefruit, oranges, limes, mangoes, lemons, lemon guava, guava, strawberry guava, pineapple, sea grape, netal plum, and white alpine strawberries but I know there are many more. So many fruit, so little time. I would love to make dragonfruit jam. Next time. 🙂

  3. LJ Grant says:

    So, we made the jelly, though I guess it would be more accurate to call it a jam, since we lacked a jelly bag or cheesecloth, and it came out super tasty though not clear. I noticed your recipe didn’t call for pectin, but I wasn’t sure that I could get our project to gel if I used only two cups of sugar. I bought the Sure-Jell low sugar pectin, gave a squeeze to a fresh lime, and put the sugar with pectin mixed in right into the pot.

    After it came up to the boil nicely, I waited for a while until I felt it was “right” and poured it off. I’ve made other jellies before, but only at home with my own nicely equipped set up, never on vacation in Hawaii in someone else’s kitchen. Yikes! So, cobbling together pots and pans and kitchen tools not normally used for such a purpose, my brother and sister-in-law and I decided whatever came out would be okay.
    It was! The jam is about the same color as the photo you have of the applesauce consistency step you have pictured in your rotating collage. At any rate, it’s tart and sweet and lots of fun, and goes well with peanut butter!

    Thanks so much for your tips and your blog posting! It confirmed what I knew was possible… you can do it if you want to! 🙂

    • Lisa-
      Truth be known I started out making syrup Since I was also on vacation I too lacked all my implements and pectin. I got busy helping our friends use Photoshop while my wife stirred the syrup. But by the time I looked into the pot I realized that it had thickened into jam. It apparently has its own pectin, such as apples (and some other fruits) have. We put the jam on the pancakes but also used it with Peanut Butter. I often have jelly/jam tastings at my house or at the locations where I give classes/talks on jellymaking. I generally use soda crackers so the participants can savor the flavor. I usually don’t put my jellies with peanut butter because I feel that the peanut butter masks some of the delicate flavors of some jellies. But in the case of Strawberry Guava the tartness and taste cuts through the peanut butter and nothing is lost.

      • LJ Grant says:

        Thanks for your tips and suggestions… I’m back home in western PA now, but I am still savoring the chance to forage and make a fruit jam while on vacation. It’s just not the same for me to go out and buy quantities of fruit (though I have and still will) when I can get my own. I was in mourning over the destruction of the wild elderberry crop this year due to SWD asian fruit flies, but this experience in Hawaii really perked up the season for me. Gracias!

      • Lisa-
        I love PA as a place to forage. We used to camp there in the summer time and I always found plenty of fruits. You might enjoy this link as it has links to helpful sites for fruits in PA. We also seemed to find “wild” apple trees everywhere. http://www.wildflower.org/expert/show.php?id=2312
        I have gotten so I can spot fruit trees and bushes while I am going 70 miles down the highway but going on a bicycle puts you at their level and makes spotting much easier.
        I seldom buy my fruit but always have fruit on hand. Right now it is figs, pomegranates, and pyracantha (although they are not wild fruits they can be foraged.).

  4. Just finally figured out my tree is a strawberry guava tree! Can’t wait to try making jam. Thanks!

  5. Dianna Milhizer says:

    Just harvested a bucketful of strawberry guavas from my three trees in my yard and busy making the jam because I really like the fullness of flavor versus what I would find with a jelly. Thank you for your recipe!

  6. katzinchen says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe! My parents had a strawberry guava tree in Solana Beach, CA; and three months ago we bought a house in Campbell, CA with a mature tree. The fruit is delicious off the tree, but your jam, which I am calling a strawberry guava “butter” because of its luscious texture, is just wonderful. I am making my second batch today. I use an Italian tomato strainer to get rid of the seeds; it consists of a fine sieve, a wooden paddle type thing to press the fruit flesh through, and a scraper. BTW, just happened to notice that the recipe was posted on my birthday. Means something only to me, but nice….

    • Michelle- Glad you enjoyed the recipe. Tomato strainer works. I have used all kinds of tools to make the recipes. At first I used just a regular sieve. The more jams and jellies I made the more important it has become to me to use the most time efficient method. Some days I was making 3 different kinds of jellies in one day during the hottest time of the year. 🙂 Think of this recipe as my birthday gift to you. 🙂

  7. Michelle says:

    I already put the guavas in the blender and strained It. Can I still make it into jam or jelly. This is my first time making jam or jelly. I have been using a similar recipe and making sorbet with my strawberry guavas.

    • Michelle- Congratulations on getting started on one of my favorite jams. You are ready to now start cooking the pulp. Just continue on with the process as outlined in the article. You just “skipped ahead” a little. 🙂 Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

