Pumpkin Pie Jam

Pumpkin Pie Jam

Pumpkins, a type of squash, were grown in Mexico and Central America over 7,000 years ago. However, I doubt any of the native inhabitants there thought about making pumpkin jam out of them. Since I had already made squash jam I thought that I might not make pumpkin jam until I was given three small pumpkins. The first pumpkin I’m making into pumpkin pie. The second one will become pumpkin bread. The third one I decided to make into pumpkin pie jam. I thought that the spices used for pumpkin pie would help “spice” up the jam into something special. Boy was I right. My wife, after tasting over fifty types of my jams and jellies, gave this jam a gold star! The color of the finished product was not the bright orange color but still an orange color. The taste was delicious. Any pumpkin or winter squash will do but the small pie pumpkins do have a sweeter taste and finer texture.

First wash the pumpkins and cut them in half if they are small, if not small then cut into quarters or whatever will fit into your container.  Scrape out the seeds and the stringy pulp. Remove any stems.

There are several methods for cooking your pumpkins.You can microwave them in a closed container with some water (15-20 minutes), boil them on the stove, or bake them in the oven. I have used all three methods successfully. Which ever method you use you will cook them until the pumpkin is soft. Carefully pull off the outer skin of pumpkin. Cut up the chunks of pumpkin into small pieces. Put the chunks into the water deep enough to cover the pieces. You can use the water used to cook the pumpkin. Bring to a rolling boil. then add the sugar and lemon. Bring to a boil again this time add the no sugar needed pectin. Let boil for one minute.  Let cool some, and then add to your freezer container.

Pumpkin Pie Jam Recipe

8 cups cooked pumpkin pieces

Water to cover pumpkin

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

3 cups sugar

3 to 4 tbsp no sugar needed pectin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pumpkin Pie Jam

  1. Robert Pike says:

    Your recipe does not include sugar, but the directions say to add sugar. Do you add sugar and if so, how much ? Enjoyed yuour presentation last night at NPSOT meeting.

    • Robert-
      Glad you enjoyed the presentation. It was lots of fun. My fault on sugar not being listed. I updated the recipe to include the 3 cups of sugar and the 3 to 4 tablespoons of no sugar needed pectin. Enjoy the jam. It was one of my favorite recipes that I developed. It tastes like pumpkin pie but is a jam!
      Texas Jelly Maker

  2. Rachel says:

    I did see at the bottom of your recipe that it can be stored in freezer containers–does that mean that I can store it in the freezer not just the refrigerator? Also could I use the puree from the can?

    • Rachel-
      All my recipes are designed to be freezer recipes. I see no reason you couldn’t use puree from the can. The puree will have a different color. (I am told that the canneries use the skin of the pumpkin which imparts a darker color to the puree.) The puree may be less moist than fresh but the taste is the same.

  3. Jess Griffith says:

    What about canning? What method would you use? I was hoping to make this recipe and send it to relatives for Thanksgiving but I am new to the canning world and am not sure if I would pressure can or use a water bath and the time requirements for each method.

    Thanks the recipe sounds delicious!

    Jess

    • Jess-
      Unfortunately it is no longer recommended that one can pureed pumpkin products, which would include my pumpkin pie jam. Granted, I still read of people canning pureed pumpkin pulp but, as I say, it is no longer recommended due to concern over bacteria not properly killed in a puree. However, you would be able to freeze it and give it to them frozen if they don’t live to far away. It is a delicious jam.

  4. Jeanne says:

    I know I am quite late to the party here, but love the idea of jam that tastes like pumpkin pie!
    I would like to know the amount of pumpkin purée when using canned? The same 8 cups as mentioned? Put the canned into the water and continue as posted?

    Thanks!

    • Jeanne-
      Thank you for visiting the site. You aren’t late to the party, you are right on time. Since you are using canned puree you can make the jam anytime. The reason for adding the water is to cook down the pumpkin. Since your puree is already cooked you will only have to add just enough water so that it will be able to cook without scorching. Go easy on the water since you are making jam not jelly. It will have the consistency of a real thick applesauce. You will not want to can this jam, rather either freeze it or use it up. It is too thick to can without causing potential health problems (ie botulism).
      -Texas Jelly Maker

  5. Jeanne says:

    Sorry to be “OCD” about this, but I use 8 cups of canned pumpkin?

    • Jeanne-
      4 cups of canned pumpkin will be enough for one recipe. Thank you for bringing this to my attention so I can add a section about using canned pumpkin puree. Everyone likes this recipe. I know you will too. Let us know how it goes.
      -Texas Jelly Maker

Leave a Reply

