Pear Jelly

Pears are one of my favorite fruit. Usually their juice is running down my face in all its sweet glory. The pears I picked for my jelly weren’t that type of pear. They were tasty even though they were still quite firm. Perhaps if I had let them ripen for several weeks more as is recommended for Texas pears I would have been spared some of the steps I took to make this jelly. However, I was eager to get back to making jellies after several weeks of no new jellies. I cut up the 10 cups of fruit and added 6 cups of water to the pot. I brought it to a boil and then reduced the heat to let it continue to simmer until the pears were soft. Once the fruit was cooked I mashed it with my potato masher. I let it cook awhile longer. I then poured it  into my foley food mill with a sieve underneath. The sieve would catch the pulp but let the juice go through. I will use the pulp later to make pear butter. I then brought the juice to boil. I added sugar and cinnamon, and after bring it to a hard boil again I added the no sugar needed pectin. I let it boil for another minute and then removed it from the heat. I let it cool, and then poured it into freezer containers. I enjoyed not only the pretty dark amber color but the sweet delicate taste of pears. These containers were placed in the freezer to be enjoyed another day.

Pear Jelly Recipe 

4 cups of Pear Juice

1 tsp cinnamon

3 cups sugar

1 pkg no sugar needed pectin

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

