Watermelon Jelly and Jam

Does eating a watermelon bring back memories of hot summers to mind? I remember sticky hands, and watermelon juice all down my white t-shirt while eating this delicious fruit in my backyard. We ate the watermelon with our fingers while sitting on lawn chairs or on a blanket on the grass. Now we eat it with a fork in the comfort of our air conditioned houses. Well, I can’t solve that problem but I can provide you with a fun way to eat watermelon. And that fun way is with watermelon jelly or jam (or even both).

First, get yourself a watermelon. I wonder if kids today even know where watermelons come from. They would say from the grocery store I suppose. The ones you see in the picture are picked for a watermelon tasting. The best variety was then used in my jelly recipe. Cut up one half, saving the other half for eating when the job of making jelly is done. Or you can save the other half for making jam.

Cube the watermelon and juice it up in a blender. Then run the juice through your cheese cloth.  Take 4 cups of this juice, add 1/4 cup of lemon juice, and 3 cups of sugar. Bring to a hard boil then add the pectin. Cook 1 minute and then remove from the stove and let it cool. Pour the jelly into freezer containers and place into the freezer when cool. Then get out the rest of the watermelon and eat it out in the back yard or take it to the park.

For making Watermelon Jam  pick out the seeds then add the chunks of watermelon to the pot, along with the lemon juice and sugar. Proceed as with jelly.

Watermelon Jelly Recipe

4 cups watermelon juice (without seeds)

1/4 cup lemon juice

3 cups sugar

1 pkg No sugar-needed fruit pectin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Watermelon Jelly and Jam

  1. Cynthia Brown says:

    I use Pomona’s Universal Pectin which requires a minimum of sugar. You can buy it at Whole Foods but I order it direct in bulk. I have been extremely pleased with this product as it lets the flavor of the fruit take front row, not sugar. The down side is that without so much sugar to act as a preservative, you have to eat the jelly or jam quickly once opened. I’ve learned to use smaller jars so there is less waste in the refrigerator. Thanks for the interesting recipes. I’m getting ready to make Peaches in a light Earl Grey Syrup from Saving the Seasons. I have a peach tree in my back yard.
    Cynthia

    • Cynthia-
      Thank you for visiting my site. It is good that there are alternative no-sugar pectins available. I know some people, including myself, have had difficulty finding the Ball’s low or no-sugar needed pectin that I use. Ball’s version I use also allows for lesser amounts of sugar but I choose to use three cups instead of the 1-2 cups such that Pomona suggests. Since my jellies are freezer jellies (ie they are not sealed) they too have a limited shelf life in the refrigerator. I freeze whatever I am not currently using. They are good for about 9 months in the freezer. Your peaches with light Earl Grey Syrup sounds interesting. I love fresh peaches so I am envious about the peach tree. We often take a road trip to buy peaches. Peaches and Apples are about the only fruit that I buy (at pick your own farms). Everything else I grow in my yard or have free access to pick for my jellies and jams.

  2. Martha Nicholas says:

    Hi Wanted to share that I made Watermelon jam using this recipe but used the pink box of Sure-Jell pectin , the low or no sugar pectin. But I changed it up, followed the Sure-jell directions by added the pectin with 1/4 cup of the sugar into the watermelon juice, brought to a boil and then added the remainder of the sugar,2 3/4 cups. It is perfectly set up , etc.. And hit with all my friends. Martha from Buckley,Washington

    • Martha- I am glad you visited my blog. I am so happy that your jelly came out fine. It would be fun to do a comparison on making the jelly the two ways. Thank you for your suggestion. Happy jelly making.

Leave a Reply

