Peach Jam

Ripe, wet, sweet, and delicious. I am definitely speaking about Prunus persica, the peach. What a beautiful small tree in flower and in fruit. With the varieties of peaches out there you likely have quite a long season to pick this delicious fruit. I pick them at the pick your own orchards. This is one of the few fruits I pay to pick. We enjoyed the drive out there, even stopping at a one room schoolhouse. If you time it right you can even pick large commercial blackberries, which we did, after filling your buckets with peaches. Within a short time you have filled your basket with as many peaches as you possibly can eat raw, make into pies, and jams. If they are extra ripe it is ok for jams.  I either immediately make my jam or I freeze the fruit and postpone the jam making until a cooler time. The advantage of freezing the fruit is it allows you to make other creations should you tire (egads!) of peach jam. Although I give away the majority of my jams, this is one jam I keep to myself. Well, I let my wife have a little.

I wash, peel, and pit the peaches, and then chop them up. I then mash them with a potato masher or food processor lightly. You will need approximately 4 cups of chopped peaches. Add sugar, bring to a boil, then add no-sugar needed pectin. Bring to another hard boil for 1 minute. Cool, pour into freezer containers, and put into the freezer.

Peach Jam Recipe 

4 cups processed peaches

3 cups sugar

1 pkg No sugar-needed fruit pectin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

