Anacua Jelly

Anacua, sand paper tree,  is a medium sized tree that has white flowers in the spring followed by yellow-orange  fruit in May. This tree grows from Mexico to Austin. It is found growing in much of the downtown area of San Antonio. The trees that are trimmed take on a stately appearance while others have branches that come down close to the ground. I found that it is easiest to pick the fruit from smaller trees. When I attempted to shake the branches to get the ripe fruit I found that I got all sorts of debris that was hard to separate from the ripe fruit. Hand picking worked best. I picked 10 cups of fruit. I then chopped them up in a food processor. I then covered the fruit with water. After cooking the fruit for 20 minutes I then crushed the fruit in a food mill. I then poured the contents through cheese cloth. This yielded 4 cups of liquid. I then added 1/4 cup of lime juice and 3 cups of sugar. After bringing the contents to a hard boil the no-sugar needed pectin was added. It was then boiled for 1 minute. After cooling the jelly was placed into freezer containers.

Anacua Jelly Recipe

10 cups anacua fruit

4 cups anacua juice

3 cups sugar

1/4 cup lime juice

1 pkg no-sugar needed pectin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anacua Jelly

  1. Mary Thoams says:

    I have a Wild Olive tree in my yard, it produces plenty of fruit, worth trying to make jelly if its the right tree, Cordia Boissieri or Anacahuita. My question is: the fruit has a large seed inside did you remove the seed or grind it all together with the flesh?

    • Mary-
      My goal when I started making my latest jelly making project (and blogging about them) was to make a jelly of everything edible that grew in Texas. So I did research Wild Olive trees (Cordia Boissieri or Anacahuita) because I was tempted by the big fruits they produce. I even had the fruit all picked, just in case. However, everything I read indicated that they were not edible. I checked with every wild food expert, naturalist, and extension agent I could but they told me the same thing. You might find this link from the Extension service useful. http://uvalde.tamu.edu/herbarium/trees-shrubs-common-name-index/anacahuita/ What they said was “Cattle, deer, and javelina also eat the fruit because of its sweetness, however it is said to produce dizziness and intoxication.” That was enough of a warning for me. My wife says I am dizzy enough without adding to it. 🙂 Thank you for asking about this fruit because you are not the only one curious to know if it is edible and could be made into a jelly. Believe me when I say if it was edible I would be making a jelly out of it.

      • Alex Garrido says:

        Oh wow, this was very useful! I have both an anacua and the white olive tree (anacahuita). I am certainly making jelly this way from the anacua but I have always been curious about the white olives. I guess you saved my life 🙂

        Thank you for this amazing blog!

      • Alex- My pleasure. I too am glad you are reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

