Dewberry Jelly and Dewberry Crisp Recipe

Today was a stay home and work in the kitchen day. A Dewberry Jelly day. I thawed out some of the  Dewberry juice in the microwave that I had frozen the other day. I ran it through the cheese cloth to filter out the stray seed and pulp that got missed the other day. I then put the juice on the stove to cook. I find that a really large pot is useful because when it gets into a hard boil it is easier to control without spilling over onto the stove. I then added the sugar and stirred with my wooden spoon. I let the mixture come to a hard boil. I then added the No-sugar fruit pectin. I let the contents come to a rolling boil for one minute. I always check how the juice runs off the spoon. If it doesn’t slowly run off the spoon I let it boil a little longer. I let it cool some then I pour the jelly into freezer containers.  When the jelly has become firm and cool I then put it into the freezer. Many people choose to can the jelly in a canner at this point so that one is able to store them in the cabinet.

1o cups of dewberries or blackberries juice up or pulverized into 4 cups juice. 

3 cups sugar

1 box of No-Sugar Needed Fruit Pectin

Dewberry Crisp Recipe

Now, I know that this is a jelly and jam blog but I can’t resist putting in my favorite fruit recipes. In the case of dewberries I always have more dewberries than needed for jelly or jam so I am always trying to come up with other ways of using them. I am fond of recipes that are not too time consuming. So when I found this recipe I knew it was destined to become a favorite at my house. And did I mention that it is absolutely delicious? This is a no fail dessert.

Ingredients  

4 cups dewberries

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp lemon juice

1/3 cup flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup quick cooking rolled oats

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 stick soften butter (really soft works better)

Directions

Preheat oven 375 degrees

Put the berries into a buttered 1 1/2 quart casserole dish. Add lemon and sugar. Stir. Press fruit firmly.

In a mixing bowl add flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, rolled oats, and butter. Stir well with fork.

Put the topping over the berries and cover the fruit mixture.

Bake for 20 minutes or until the topping is browned.

I let this cool slightly and then added ice cream to my serving.

Just writing this makes me want to go out to the kitchen and serve myself the last of the dewberry crisp.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

