Cantaloupe Jam

Talk about a jam that practically no one has ever tasted before. I don’t understand why this isn’t on the grocery store shelf since it is a common fruit. Cantaloupe has a distinctive flavor and that flavor carries over well to the jam. I can still remember the day when I was 6 years old and went out into a farmer’s field with the farmer in order to pick what he called muskmelon. I remember him pulling out a pocket knife out of his pockets with his large rough hands. He reached down to the field in front of us and picked up a melon. It seemed to me that there were melons everywhere but he told me that he had already picked the field and these were the ones that were too ripe, too big, or too small to have been picked. The sun was burning down on us that day as he split that muskmelon open with his knife. He handed me a piece. It was the first time I had ever eaten fruit in the middle of a field. Well, it was the sweetest, cool fruit I ever have eaten. So now I have the opportunity to put a little of that flavor into a container of jam.

I washed and sliced up one cantaloupe into many pieces. I then put it into my cooking pot along with lemon juice. I brought it to a boil, mashing the fruit all the while. I then added the no sugar-needed fruit pectin. When it was at a hard boil I added the sugar. I let it boil at a hard boil for 3 minutes. After cooling it was poured into freezer containers. My wife tasted it while it was still warm and pronounced it super delicious. That is no small announcement since she is my most strict critic.

Cantaloupe Jelly Recipe

4 cups mashed cantaloupeĀ 

1/4 cup lemon or lime juice

1 pkg no sugar-needed pectin

3 cups sugar

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Cantaloupe Jam

  1. tower@pixius.net says:

    how much sugar for the cantaloupe jam?

  2. Donna H. says:

    can this be put in sealed jars or i guess the better question is do i literally freeze it

  3. Anna says:

    Yes, you can process this jelly in jars (hot water bath) style. However, the color becomes much darker. It tastes MARVELOUS !!!!

    • Anna-
      Thank you for your comments on making this jelly in jars (hot water bath) style. You are right about cantaloupe jam tasting great. One of the things that amazed about making jellies is that many the unusual jellies turn out so delicious.

      • Jen says:

        WAIT … Are you saying that you ARE able to “can” these, as in not freeze? I’ve just started learning to ‘can’, so if I can do that, I’d like to do that.

      • Jen-
        All my recipes are for making freezer jams and jellies. There are not many recipes out there for cantaloupe jam for canning but I did find some when I searched right now on the internet. When I made my Cantaloupe Jam recipe I just followed my standard recipe for low or no sugar freezer jam. Canning often requires a different level of acidity that one doesn’t have to worry about when freezing.

  4. Rhae Lynn says:

    I just got done making this jam! So goood… would have never thought to make Jam out of Cantaloupe, but I’m sure happy I made it. Thank you for sharing this unusual yet yummy recipe! Happy Canning everyone!

    • Rhae-
      Glad you enjoyed the jam. It sure was a surprise to me too. Now you should try the zucchini jam. That will knock your socks off. I did it on a dare but the laugh was on those who dared me. My friends are like.. .Here is some tree bark, make a jelly with it. :) But they always like the jellies I come up with. Of course, they are can’t wait until I start making wine.

      • Zelpha says:

        I’ve also made cherry jam as well as muskmelon and plum jam years ago but lost the recipe.

      • Zelpha- Ah, Cherry jam. That sure takes me back to my youth in Indiana. I don’t have access to cherries here in Central Texas (except at the grocery store) so I haven’t made any Cherry Jam in a long time.
        4 cups chopped cherries. You can use a food mill to chop them (after cooking them) as well as remove the pits.
        2 tablespoons lemon juice for sweet cherries
        1 and 1/4 boxes of no sugar needed pectin
        2.5 cups of sugar for sweet cherries and 3-4 cups of sugar for sour cherries
        Then follow my standard recipes for when to add pectin and sugar and cooking times.

  5. jessica says:

    i dont like using the powder pectin. how much liquid pectin could i use?

  6. Amanda Lee says:

    I am very new to canning and making jams and jellies! Why do you use the no- sugar needed Pectin but add 3 cups of sugar? Is there a difference?

    • Amanda-
      Thank you for visiting my site. Good question. Standard jelly recipes use 5-6 cups of sugar. I don’t want that much sugar in my jelly. On the other hand, many jellies simply taste better with sugar. Some fruits are so tart that sugar is a necessity. Even the no-sugar pectin recipes recommend using sugar so it will jell better. No-sugar pectin jelly tends to be less stiff in consistency than standard jellies as it is so I don’t want it to be even more runny. Hope you enjoy the cantaloupe jelly. Let us know how it turns out.

  7. Amanda Lee says:

    so can you use the regular pectin instead? I have plenty of the regular pectin and none of the no-sugar on hand. If so, how much sugar would you use?

  8. Wendy says:

    I had an Aunt once who made jelly from the hulls of purple hull peas. It had a pretty purple color and tasted very similar to grape jelly.

    • Thank you for visiting the site. Purple Hull Pea jelly is a jelly I have not heard of before. I find it interesting that the jelly is made from the hulls rather than the peas. Talk about “waste not want not”. I can imagine that it was a tasty and pretty jelly. I was surprised to find out that every year there is a purple hull pea festival in Emerson, Arkansas. I will have to put that on my calendar for next year since I want to see the tiller races. In reading their website I discovered not only is there Purple Hull Pea Jelly but there is Purple Hull Pea cornbread, and Purple Hull Pea salsa. Who knew? I will have to get some purple hull peas and plant them in my garden. I have to admit I haven’t eat Purple Hull Peas but people in our community garden to grow other varieties of cow peas that seem to do very well here. Thank you for introducing me to a new type of jelly!
      -Texas Jelly Maker

  9. Kay Quinn says:

    Thank you so much for posting/creating this recipe! I have so much cantaloupe this year and it is such a waste when we cant eat it all before it goes bad. I usually make jams and jellies and give them to family and friends at Christmas with a loaf of homemade bread. With this recipe they will be getting a nice new treat!!! I also made a couple batches of zuchinni jam this year. The people that tried it cant believe it is zuchinni its fantastic just like your recipe. Thank you again!!

  10. Rebecca says:

    Purple hull pea jelly is a favorite at my house. I make it and Crowder hull jelly which taste somewhat like apple jelly every year. The kids love it! I’ve been looking for a good recipe got cantaloupe jelly. Thanks!

    • Rebecca-
      Thanks for visiting this site. I sure am learning something new since I have never eaten Purple hull peas nor Crowder Hull peas. I have eaten blackeyed peas. Many of the gardeners in my community garden grow some variety of cowpeas but I am not sure which kind. What color is the Crowder Hull Pea jelly? And are you using the fresh hulls or dried ones? Have fun with the cantaloupe jelly.

  11. Nick F says:

    How much pectin? I see where you state 1 package, I’ve seen it in 3 oz and 6 oz packs.

  12. Mary Torres says:

    I saw all the cantaloupes I had and didn;t know what to do with them. Saw your recipe and you were the answer, It came out so good and much cheaper than jarring , I went to the dollar tree and bought 5 containers for $1,00 , you can;t be that. Your recipe was excellent, easy and it came out so yummy,

  13. Sherry says:

    Have you tried doubling this recipe. If so would I need to double the sugar amts? Your receipe came out perfect. But I have a lot of cantalope and would like to make larger batches.

    • Sherry,
      Thank you for visiting Texas Jelly Making. I am glad to hear that your jam came out great. Doubling a recipe makes it much more likely that it will not set or jell for you. When I have lots of fruit I just make several batches side by side on the stove.

    • sally says:

      Hi Sherry, I just found this site and even though it has been 4 months since you posted this, I wanted to tell you that I have doubled and tripled this recipe and it turns out just the same as if I did one batch. Cantaloupe jam is the best jam that I have tasted. I gave some to my kids (who were skeptical) and they loved it. I hope that you found out the answer to your question before now. :)

Leave a Reply

