Mayhaw Jelly Recipe

I have been thinking about and preparing for Mayhaw jelly for so long that I have been even dreaming about making the jelly. Today I thawed out the juice (see earlier Mayhaw post) and ran it through the cheese cloth. I confess I had to taste the juice. What a pleasantly tart flavor. I then brought the juice and sugar to a boil. (Again I tasted it to see if the tart flavor survived. It did.) I then added the No-sugar Needed pectin to the contents. I let it come to a rolling boil ( a boil that doesn’t stir down) for one minute. Removed from the fire it was poured into freezer containers. It began to jell almost immediately. I couldn’t resist. I spread the newly made jelly onto homemade bread. Oh boy, was it delicious. Everybody asks me which jelly is my favorite. I usually answer that whichever jelly I am making currently is my favorite, Mayhaw jelly sure was worth the hype and wait.

Mayhaw Jelly Recipe

4 cups Mayhaw juice (look in previous post for directions)

3 cups sugar

1 pkg no sugar needed pectin

This, as are all my recipes, is a freezer/refrigerator jelly. the jar in the above picture is for the refrigerator.

The bread in the above picture is mayhaw bread. I searched the internet for a mayhaw bread recipe but I could not find one so I created my own.

Mayhaw Bread Recipe

16 ounces of mayhaw pulp

3 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs, beaten

3 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Directions

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour your loaf pans. Stir the sugar and oil together. For the pulp use the fruit left over after running the liquid through the cheese cloth. Add pulp. Then add eggs and mayhaw pulp. Combine ingredients in their own bowl. Stir together the dry ingredients into the moist mixture. Pour mixture into loaf pans. Bake 30 to 50 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes. Slide knife around mold to release bread.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mayhaw Jelly Recipe

  1. Sandy Duncan says:

    This is not the recipe that has appeared in Sure Jell for years but has now disappeared.
    I just completed making a batch of Mayhaw jelly from the old recipe. It did not jell immediately but as it cooled. It also called for 5 1/2 cups sugar. The above recipe may be fine for some but I like the original.

    • Sandy-
      Thank you for visiting my blog. The recipes I have developed all are for using no sugar needed pectin. Thus they need less sugar. But I do not can them. I store them in the freezer. They tend to be a bit more runny than the standard recipe. I grew up using the recipes you are using but I switched since my stove is a flat top stove that is not recommended for use with canning kettles. Now if only I could persuade my wife to stop using “my” freezer life would be good.

Leave a Reply

